Seth Rollins def. Intercontinental Champion Dolph Ziggler via Disqualification

June 26, 2018
Seth Rollins def. Intercontinental Champion Dolph Ziggler via Disqualification

For the last few months, Seth Rollins has built his identity around being a fighting Intercontinental Champion, so last week’s surprise title loss to Dolph Ziggler hit The Kingslayer hard. Rollins technically got even by defeating Ziggler in the rematch, but thanks to a disqualification ruling, the title will remain around The Showoff’s waist.

It’s a bitter ending for The Architect, but given the progression of the match, not unexpected. The Kingslayer was so aggressive in his opening salvo that the commentary team openly raised the possibility of both a DQ and, later, a count-out after the action spilled to the outside. Ziggler’s efficient, scientific counter-attack seemed to foreshadow a straight-up defeat for The Showoff.

Rollins caught a lucky break when the official ejected an interfering Drew McIntyre, and it took The Showoff a long while to gain ground as The Architect began to surge. But the massive Scotsman didn’t stay in the locker room for long, re-emerging to haul the ref out of the ring after Rollins executed the superplex-Falcon Arrow. A surefire post-match beating was cut short by the arrival of Roman Reigns, and The Big Dog’s appearance allowed Rollins to end the night with a brother at his side and a battle well fought. Rollins is a fighter, to be sure — but not a champion.

Article source:

Post Your Comments...